The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

3 posters

Teaching Tips

Tim Coppin
    Tim Coppin

Teaching Tips Empty Teaching Tips

Post by Tim Coppin Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:59 am

Tony,

When training outside of the club with some guys I can spot small mistakes that are being made to guards/stance etc. Still being a complete novice myself i struggle to find ways in helping them raise their game, I know how it should look, feel but cant think of a way to get the information over to them.

Training outside of normal class helps me massively and i would like to be able to pass over what little experience i have to others.

Thank you for all of your help and guidance both in the club and outside.

Kind regards

Tim
    Peter Skillen
    Peter Skillen

Teaching Tips Empty Re: Teaching Tips

Post by Peter Skillen Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:39 pm

do whatever it is you want to get across to them your self in slow motion.Break the move down into seperate sctions.Teach these seperate sections that make the whole movement. make them shadow you as you do this. getting the student to Copy is a realy great way of teaching and also keeps you on your toes.
    Peter Skillen
    Peter Skillen

Post by Peter Skillen Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:39 pm

Dont for get patience and repetition repetition repetition
    Tony Terranova
    Tony Terranova

Post by Tony Terranova Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:34 pm

Hi Tim,

You are too humble, you are more than a novice you have come a long way in a short space of time due to your dedication.

Peter has given some top tips in his 2 replies on this post to your question so I will just add a few extra notes.