The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

2 posters

Combination Drills

Matt
    Matt

Combination Drills Empty Combination Drills

Post by Matt Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:12 pm

Hi Tony,

As you know we train a lot of different combinations at FFMA throughout the week but being a beginner I tend to revert to jab, cross, hook, cross when shadow boxing. This is highlighted further when I watch the advanced guys sparring. Whilst my mind is trying to think about what to do next in touch sparring situations I have noticed that they carry out different punches, elbows, knees and kicks from all directions quite naturally.

Have you got any tips as to what others I could be drilling so that the movements become more natural and importantly with the right control?

Thanks,

Matt
    Tony Terranova
    Tony Terranova

Combination Drills Empty Re: Combination Drills

Post by Tony Terranova Tue Sep 16, 2008 2:40 am

Hi Matt,

Sorry for the late reply. Firstly I want to say that you are one of the most promising beginners I have seen, and considering the short amount of time you have been training I would not worry too much about complex combinations as you will pick them up along your journey in MMA.

There are endless combinations as it all depends on several factors such as which art they are to be used and or if they are just for martial arts purposes or self protection and which ones best suit your own bio-mechanics. Let us assume you want some basic combinations on MMA as a start point with the focus on stand up just to get some listed for you.

When working combinations initially start with working your body left to right and right to left so that you get full momentum and leverage on your techniques; here are a few examples all based on an orthodox stance (left leg forward):

 Lead jab and low right leg kick