The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

4 posters

completeselfprotection.com @ Effective Fitness Gym

Davey
    Davey

completeselfprotection.com @ Effective Fitness Gym Empty completeselfprotection.com @ Effective Fitness Gym

Post by Davey Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:21 pm

Hi

Do you have to have alot of martial arts and full contact experience to take part in these Sunday lesons?
    I have very little in the way of full contact experience, the Jutsu I did was british jujitsu Association which is very traditional, nothing like the brazilin stuff, so if i was to turn up i would really be a complete beginner.

Oh yer whats this BCA that people refer too? is it British Combat Association? lol if it is I was there all them years ago think it was about 1993 ish? heh motorcycle helmets and 16oz gloves lol

If I did start what would i expect to undertake in the first few lessons?

thanks in advance for getting back to me.

Unfit Dave Smile
    Al Peasland
    Al Peasland
    Admin

completeselfprotection.com @ Effective Fitness Gym Empty Re: completeselfprotection.com @ Effective Fitness Gym

Post by Al Peasland Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:25 pm

Hi Dave

Just a heads up - my site is a little out of date as we're still training out of the Canley gym at the moment, but I will send more details privately if you require them.

The BCA is as you said, the British Combat Association. Headed by Peter Consterdine and Geoff Thompson.

The Sunday sessions is open to anyone, of any ability. It's a small friendly group and thats they way I intend it to stay. Each week we cover a variety of stuff, from pure self protection, pre-emptive striking, restrictive striking, etc - right through to training in each art such as grappling, Muay Thai, Boxing, etc etc

Fitness is a pre-requosite to attending mate, the training will help develop that anyway.