For Everything Self Defence


    Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Share
    avatar
    bobspour

    Posts : 145
    Join date : 2008-06-18
    Age : 60
    Location : West Midlands

    Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by bobspour on Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:53 am

    This review has been a long time coming but I wanted to watch again Eddie Quinn's take on fighting in his new 3 part DVD series "The Approach".

    I have known Eddie for nearly 20 years, both as one of his teachers and as a close friend, and in that time I have watched him grow in stature, not just as a martial artist but as a man. This growth and development is mirrored in the high quality of work he has produced in this Instructional set. The series takes you through his philosophy and approach to fighting. He talks as someone who is well aware of violence having been stabbed 8 times in an altercation which thankfully he survived ! In fact I think Eddie would say that he is not a survivor but a winner. Eddie exemplifies what I have always taught...ATTITUDE! he has it in bucket-loads and it comes across in this series without a doubt.

    Eddie seemlessly blends Muay Thai and Silat to produce a very effective fighting form. There is very little bullshit here and with Eddie, what you see is what you get. Trust me if Eddie gets hold of you you won't know what has hit you! I know my Muay Thai inside out but I also have a great insight into Silat and although it gets a bad press I always maintain that you should always choose your teacher wisely. There is so much crap out there as a result of Crap teachers it beggars belief. Fortunately for his Silat tuition Eddie chose Chris Parker (another good mate of mine), and he is without question THE premier Silat teacher in the world today. I feel that Eddie has taken the Silat a step further and brought into play an understanding of Intention and aggression that pours out of these DVD's.

    Don't take my word for it...GO AND BUY the first volume and see for yourself. Maybe it will change your approach to fighting.

    Good Luck Eddie!
    avatar
    jimmyfatwing

    Posts : 57
    Join date : 2008-06-20
    Location : UK

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by jimmyfatwing on Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:36 am

    Any websites we can go to for this Bob?

    Eddie Quinn

    Posts : 37
    Join date : 2008-09-02

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Eddie Quinn on Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:46 am

    Thank you Bob for not only your kind words but for being the person who did open my eyes to proper martial arts, what you have taught me both as a friend and a teacher is something i could never put a price on, from the bottom of my heart, Thank you my friend.
    Eddie

    Eddie Quinn

    Posts : 37
    Join date : 2008-09-02

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Eddie Quinn on Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:28 am

    Sorry James i was touched by Bobs words i nearly forgot you!

    You can order the dvd series through the advert in martial arts illustrated or you can wait a week or so for the website to be up and running.

    Take care,

    Eddie
    avatar
    Mick Tully
    Moderator

    Posts : 833
    Join date : 2008-06-14
    Age : 48
    Location : coventry

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Mick Tully on Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:05 am

    Cannot wait for this set
    it looks awesome!
    Mick x
    avatar
    Mick Tully
    Moderator

    Posts : 833
    Join date : 2008-06-14
    Age : 48
    Location : coventry

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Mick Tully on Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:06 am

    Cannot wait for this set
    it looks awesome!
    Mick x
    avatar
    Mick Tully
    Moderator

    Posts : 833
    Join date : 2008-06-14
    Age : 48
    Location : coventry

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Mick Tully on Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:07 am

    Cannot wait for this set
    it looks awesome!
    Mick x
    avatar
    Peter Skillen

    Posts : 612
    Join date : 2008-06-16
    Location : Loughborough

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Peter Skillen on Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:52 am

    So much so he had to say it three times Razz Razz Very Happy Put me down for a copy too
    avatar
    jimmyfatwing

    Posts : 57
    Join date : 2008-06-20
    Location : UK

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by jimmyfatwing on Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:21 am

    Eddie Quinn wrote:Sorry James i was touched by Bobs words i nearly forgot you!

    No worries Eddie Wink I'll wait for the website and have a look...will there be any clips for us hungry people to watch?
    avatar
    D.Hughes
    Admin

    Posts : 398
    Join date : 2008-06-13
    Age : 44
    Location : Coventry, UK

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by D.Hughes on Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:17 pm

    great set mate. me being a jkd guy, you had me at 'right lead' lol!

    Eddie Quinn's new DVD set is exactly what it says on the tin. Fast, effective, hard-hitting, and a simple approach to self defence and combat in general.
    Eddie will have your eyes glued to the screen as he elegantly takes you through the principles and explains using fantastic analogy's that will have you
    using this system to its full devastating potential in no time.
    Its not often I am blown away by a new system/concept, and i have seen many. This one was the exception, and I for one will certainly be adding
    'the approach' to my arsenal. I would suggest you do the same!

    Thanks Eddie!

    Rick kirby
    selfdefence.darkbb.com


    _________________
    Welcome to THE self defence forum Very Happy
    avatar
    karma

    Posts : 124
    Join date : 2008-06-16
    Age : 46

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by karma on Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:50 am

    I would just like to second the comments above .The Approach dvds are worth every penny .Well filmed ,to the point and reasonably priced .I also like the idea of walking around with my own personal pick axe handles (very cool ).Buy the dvd's to see what I mean.
    Well done Eddie good job. Cool
    Karl
    avatar
    Luke Mannion

    Posts : 33
    Join date : 2008-06-15

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Luke Mannion on Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:31 am

    Couldn't agree more, Eddie and his system are outstanding. Couldn't recommend the dvd set enough.

    cobra kai

    Posts : 17
    Join date : 2009-04-22

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by cobra kai on Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:22 pm

    i got the dvd's and it looks very good, i havent had a chance to train it yet but i like the simple multi functional aproach to it, its very very simple in concept and multi functional. i would recomend that everyone should at least check it out as it looks like it can be a good addition to any style or a stand alone style by it self like all good appraoches should be.
    5 stars mr quinn!!

    charley

    Posts : 18
    Join date : 2009-04-29

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by charley on Sat May 09, 2009 7:31 pm

    without a doubt- The Approach DVD set is the best thing to come our way for a long time.Even the music is'nt too bad.
    Some people may wrongly assume it is reactive
    this is wrong ,it can be very pro-active/pre-emptive and its a great way to destroy a fence type defence should one be put up to get around, the attack/delivery seem to be thrown quite effortlessly from the fence
    yep, gotta give the credit when its due-I love it and will be attending Eddie's seminar on sunday 17th

    JonyLeaber

    Posts : 10
    Join date : 2010-12-12

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by JonyLeaber on Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:09 pm

    chance to train it yet but i like the simple multi functional aproach to it, its very very simple in concept and multi functional. i would recomend that everyone




    ________________
    truth-about-abs-six-pack-abs-review


    Sponsored content

    Re: Review of Eddie Quinns's new DVD collection "THE APPROACH"

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:07 pm