The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

+3
Dave Stanswood
Nathan
Mick Tully
7 posters

books/films that have changed your life!

Mick Tully
    Mick Tully

books/films that have changed your life! Empty books/films that have changed your life!

Post by Mick Tully Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:24 pm

c'mon people
    show me yours and i'll show you mine!
    mick x Very Happy
    Nathan

books/films that have changed your life! Empty Re: books/films that have changed your life!

Post by Nathan Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:01 pm

I read "Fear, the friend of exceptional people" by Geoff Thompson and after only 2 chapters in I made arrangements to go back to college and quit the factory 2 weeks later.

5 years on I was a fully qualified teacher and havn't looked back. Mind you, the prospect of putting a bolt through a motor (approx 3 second action) then moving onto the next one on a conveyor belt for 8 hour shifts at £4.19 an hour does seem like the smart future carreer choice!

Anyone else got some old jobs they want to share?

books/films that have changed your life! Empty Re: books/films that have changed your life!

Post by Guest Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:07 pm

Working in a book binding factory, binding, shrink wrapping, and boxing books and magazines until I could not read text on anything.

Boy those were the days.

I read watch my back, and vowed to be able to learn from geoff, and low and behold, I have, I am, and things are changing and have changed for the better.

plus numerous other books from himself and many other authors to, but geoff was the catalyst for me.

cheers
    Dave Stanswood
    Dave Stanswood

Post by Dave Stanswood Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:54 am