The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

4 posters

Coping Strategies

Matt
    Matt

Coping Strategies Empty Coping Strategies

Post by Matt Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:13 pm

Hi Tony,

This is not a typical martial arts based question but is a question based around day to day life.

Firstly a bit of background - As you will know the UK economy is a difficult place in which to work these days and in particular industries such as construction, manufacturing face difficult times. I work in construction where redundancies, pay cuts and insolvencies are common. My particular section of the industry, project management and surveying, is not immune to this.

I have found martial arts really helpful as it assists me in coping with some of the headlines and set backs but I was wandering whether you have any other insights in to maintaining a positive outlook (training, reading etc).

I would also appreciate it if you have any advice on how to promote this to other people who do not do martial arts as I have a team that also need to be motivated.

Matt
    Steve Heneghan
    Steve Heneghan

Coping Strategies Empty Re: Coping Strategies

Post by Steve Heneghan Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:13 am

Matt
    I know you addressed that question to Tony so I hope you don't mind me adding a comment.
    One thing I believe in quite strongly is to stop tuning in to the barrage of bad news that we get slung at us every day. Of course there is a real problem and there are some people suffering as a consequence but it is all made much worse by the news in all it's forms and the conversations that we have with each other. I regulaly have to find some tactful words to tell people to stop telling me bad stuff !!
    To liken it to martial arts, I believe that someone telling me bad news is an assault on my thoughts that goes deeper and lasts longer than a slap on the face !