The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

3 posters

My turn to say Hi

Al Peasland
    Al Peasland
    Admin

My turn to say Hi Empty My turn to say Hi

Post by Al Peasland Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:26 pm

Well, I think it's about time I said Hi, so here goes.

I'm Al Peasland and have great pleasure in taking up the mantel as Moderator and Admin on this new forum - which looks set to be a great forum for Martial Artists, and non-Martial Artists alike.

My background is very much if not entirely the Geoff Thompson - Real Combat System, having started training in Shotokan Karate at Geoff’s club in Coventry at the age of 12 – for those of you who don’t know me, that was 10 years ago, for those of you who do – it was more like 22.

My art then moved on through the array of styles and ranges that were introduced into the club as Geoff’s search for a complete system continued. Both by studying these arts independently and also merging them into the one system, the Real Combat System was born.

Having trained and qualified in various arts including, 4th Dan BCA Instructor, 3rd Dan Karate, Greco and Freestyle Wrestling Coach, ABA Boxing Coach, 1st Dan Sambo, all by the age of 22, I already had quite a full CV as my career as a Nightclub Doorman took off.
    I spent roughly 7 years working the door, culminating in working 5 nights per week and running my own team of doormen at, amongst others, a popular club called Scholars in Coventry.

I have to admit, the good times far outweighed the bad and like to think I got out of the job while I still had my good looks (well – maybe I left it a little bit too late for that perhaps). But there was still ample supply of opportunity to pressure test my own techniques and really find out what worked and what didn’t.