The Self Defence Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For Everything Self Defence

5 posters

How can i find my trigger/switch?

esther
    esther

How can i find my trigger/switch? Empty How can i find my trigger/switch?

Post by esther Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:32 pm

Hi Tony,

Im in a small dilemma, and im hoping you can help.Basically its as the title says.As you know im a beginner and would like to progress.Now i have more understanding about mma than i did, im picking up on a few things about myself.

If i stand back and watch some of the higher grades in the class, i realise that they dont appear to be just training, they appear to be full on sparring, with out the actual intention of hurting, unless by mistake.Almost as if mentally their life depended on it and also them being fitter, quicker, harder hitting etc.

Its like they have turned on a switch, do their thing, and then turn it off again.I cant find my switch.Ive tried thinking about people i dont like, but it hasnt worked.I dont know if its because i know i must show control at all times, as i dont want to hurt anyone by mistake.

appreciate your help Tony, thanks
    Tony Terranova
    Tony Terranova

How can i find my trigger/switch? Empty Re: How can i find my trigger/switch?

Post by Tony Terranova Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:18 am

Hi Esther,

This is a tough question and one that has many answers. Here some comments for starters as this subject is close to the heart of many top instructors such as; Geoff Thompson, Peter Consterdine, Bob Spour, Matty Evans, Tony Somers, Alan Peasland, Mick Tully, Rick Young, Iain Abernethy and many others (far too many to list on this reply).